jesus fish

January 1, 2009

The J-word

I tell you, all those who stand before others and say they believe in me, I, the Son of Man, will say before the angels of God that they belong to me. Luke 12:8

What is the most offensive word that can be said in public? Apparently, it is the name of Jesus. Rick Warren’s inauguration prayer is drawing criticism over this very issue. There is some concern that he might offer up his prayer in Jesus’ name. A lawsuit has already been filed. In his statement to the AP, Warren said “I’m a Christian pastor so I will pray the only kind of prayer I know how to pray.”

Hope that Warren does not tone down his message for the sake of political expediency. In Revelation 3, Jesus uses strong language to rebuke cultural wanna be’s in the church of Laodicea. “So then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth” Rev 3:16.

This ancient city was known for the poor quality of their drinking water. Hot springs flowed into aqueducts and traveled down the mountain for five miles before reaching Laodicea. Jesus compared this church to the tepid, nasty tasting water that Laodiceans were forced to drink. The spring water started out pure but, after being exposed to the environment, it became something nauseating.

Rick Warren is under pressure to cool off his message (before it has even been spoken). Praying that he will stay strong to his calling and not be ashamed to speak the name of Jesus Christ.

What about me in my puny little sphere of influence? How often do I back off when an opportunity presents itself? How many times have I let a moment pass because it’s just too much trouble to get into one of “those” conversations?

And, unlike Rick Warren, nobody is going to sue me for it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

